Skip to content
Stoke-on-TrentCountsStoke-on-Trent, in numbers.Local help →

Stoke-on-Trent · England

Projects

Stoke-on-Trent council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Named local schemes and plans, with the responsible body and the latest stage established by the source checked. A proposal, funding announcement and completed project are different things.

Next to Stoke-on-Trent railway station and the Trent and Mersey Canal

Goods Yard neighbourhood

Former railway-side land has become homes, workspace, places to eat and a public square.

Council reports development completed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Stoke-on-Trent City Council and Capital&Centric

Latest evidence: The council describes Goods Yard as completed, with 174 rental homes and commercial space. Completion does not establish the number occupied or the net number of jobs created.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from a city or street name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Housing, regeneration and operations: recent projects →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make the station arrival connect clearly to Goods Yard and the wider city →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Station Road and Winton Square, Stoke-on-Trent

Station Road and Winton Square improvements

Wider pavements, crossings and bus facilities improve the route into the city from the railway station.

Council reports works completed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Stoke-on-Trent City Council

Latest evidence: The council records completion, including a bus gate, improved pick-up areas and real-time bus information. Changes in traffic, journey times or collision numbers need separate follow-up evidence.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from a city or street name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Transforming Cities Fund: Station Road →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make the station arrival connect clearly to Goods Yard and the wider city →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Westwood Court and Wellington Court, Hanley

Westwood Court and Wellington Court refurbishment

The proposed work combines insulation and weatherproofing with sprinklers and lift improvements in two Hanley tower blocks.

Contract appointment proposed following tender; later approval not verified · evidence dated 2026-03-19

Responsible body: Stoke-on-Trent City Council

Latest evidence: The March announcement sought approval for the £6.6 million refurbishment. It anticipated a June 2027 start and December 2028 completion if approved. Residents were expected to remain during the work; that expectation requires continuing resident support and safety arrangements.

Next thing to establish: Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£6.6 million proposed refurbishment reported in March 2026; approved contract sum and final outturn not verified.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named location or council-wide remit does not establish benefits in every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Westwood Court and Wellington Court refurbishment →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep tower-block residents informed and safe during upgrades →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Plan homes and care around an older population →

Bring support closer to people in poor health →

Target safety work where problems repeat →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

What this local evidence covers

3 reviewed plans and projects

1 have a source-dated stage; 0 have some funding evidence; 1 have some cost evidence. These counts do not prove that funding or costs are complete.

Check each project →

0 verified ward links

Project locations cannot be treated as a map of who benefits. Each record explains any verified ward association.

Read the sources and limits →
What is still missing

The reviewed local schemes are a selected evidence collection, not a complete council capital programme.

Current service capacity, incomes, waiting lists, school demand and project outcomes need additional verified local evidence before firm claims can be made.

Project locations have not been matched to official ward boundaries. No ward-specific delivery claims are inferred.

Costs, funding and benefits are only reported where the selected official evidence states them; blank fields are not zero.