Skip to content
Stoke-on-Trent Counts — Stoke-on-Trent, in numbers.Local help →

Stoke-on-Trent · England

People and living standards

Stoke-on-Trent council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Stoke-on-Trent

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Stoke-on-Trent local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 249,409 in 1991 to 272,282 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Stoke-on-Trent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 248,976 people in 1996; 272,282 people in 2025. 9.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Stoke-on-Trent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991249,409
1992248,882
1993248,510
1994249,472
1995249,265
1996248,976
1997247,360
1998245,298
1999244,130
2000241,989
2001240,422
2002239,955
2003240,031
2004241,078
2005241,481
2006243,069
2007243,697
2008245,509
2009245,869
2010247,381
2011248,719
2012250,322
2013251,568
2014253,316
2015254,095
2016256,168
2017258,235
2018258,843
2019259,181
2020258,866
2021258,102
2022260,709
2023265,750
2024270,010
2025272,282
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Stoke-on-Trent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 51,761 people in 1996; 54,723 people in 2025. 5.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Stoke-on-Trent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199150,498
199250,963
199351,432
199452,126
199552,090
199651,761
199751,204
199850,419
199949,746
200048,820
200147,856
200247,158
200346,807
200446,765
200546,847
200646,945
200746,948
200847,840
200948,003
201048,187
201148,408
201249,112
201349,577
201450,254
201550,903
201651,624
201752,305
201852,791
201952,987
202052,973
202152,276
202252,707
202353,676
202454,583
202554,723
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Stoke-on-Trent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 156,898 people in 1996; 171,030 people in 2025. 9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Stoke-on-Trent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991159,276
1992157,872
1993156,921
1994157,164
1995156,886
1996156,898
1997155,932
1998155,035
1999154,785
2000153,943
2001153,456
2002153,941
2003154,673
2004156,127
2005156,570
2006158,266
2007159,007
2008159,705
2009159,697
2010160,626
2011161,308
2012161,016
2013161,063
2014161,251
2015160,873
2016161,803
2017162,737
2018162,723
2019162,306
2020161,669
2021161,256
2022162,881
2023166,497
2024169,291
2025171,030
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Stoke-on-Trent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 40,317 people in 1996; 46,529 people in 2025. 15.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Stoke-on-Trent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199139,635
199240,047
199340,157
199440,182
199540,289
199640,317
199740,224
199839,844
199939,599
200039,226
200139,110
200238,856
200338,551
200438,186
200538,064
200637,858
200737,742
200837,964
200938,169
201038,568
201139,003
201240,194
201340,928
201441,811
201542,319
201642,741
201743,193
201843,329
201943,888
202044,224
202144,570
202245,121
202345,577
202446,136
202546,529
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 258,369 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stoke-on-Trent · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh25,5979.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6,8842.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups5,8602.3%
White215,69983.5%
Other ethnic group4,3291.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 249,008 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stoke-on-Trent · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White220,71288.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,4911.8%
Asian/Asian British18,4427.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3,7411.5%
Other ethnic group1,6220.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 240,636 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stoke-on-Trent · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White228,10794.8%
Mixed2,1430.9%
Asian/Asian British8,4883.5%
Black/Black British1,0760.4%
Chinese/Other8220.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 31% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Stoke-on-Trent council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,376 per person in 1997; £17,925 per person in 2024. 114% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Stoke-on-Trent council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,376
19988,485
19999,043
20009,307
20019,448
20029,597
20039,922
200410,197
200510,752
200610,902
200711,429
200811,622
200911,917
201012,025
201112,264
201212,568
201312,940
201413,156
201513,646
201613,789
201713,918
201814,340
201914,846
202015,108
202115,442
202216,074
202316,991
202417,925
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Stoke-on-Trent council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -21.1% in 1997; -31% in 2024. 9.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Stoke-on-Trent council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-21.1
1998-21.6
1999-20.1
2000-21.8
2001-23.6
2002-24.1
2003-23.9
2004-24.9
2005-23.5
2006-25.6
2007-25.5
2008-26.2
2009-25.6
2010-25.5
2011-24.7
2012-25.6
2013-26.1
2014-27.2
2015-28.3
2016-28.4
2017-29.4
2018-29.7
2019-29.5
2020-28
2021-29.3
2022-30
2023-30.5
2024-31
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

24%

21 March 2021 · Stoke-on-Trent local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

25.9%

21 March 2021 · Stoke-on-Trent local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.4%

21 March 2021 · Stoke-on-Trent local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£147,000

July 2026 · Stoke-on-Trent local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£715

August 2026 · Stoke-on-Trent local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.